EPDIC Awards

Each year the great work of two scientists is acknowledged with EPDIC Awards.


EPDIC17 Young Scientist Award

Dr. Mark Senn

University of Warwick, UK

May 31, 18:00

Hall Šibenik II

EPDIC17 Distinguished Powder Diffractionist Award

Prof. Simon Billinge

Columbia University and Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA

June 3, 16:50

Hall Šibenik II

Symmetry assisted insights into functional materials

The nanostructure inverse problem in the time of artificial intelligence

The EPDIC Award for Young Scientists

The award is assigned at each EPDIC Conference and honors the outstanding scientific achievement by young scientists in the field of powder diffraction.

The award winner, elected by the EPDIC Committee, is invited to present a plenary lecture at the next European Powder Diffraction Conference. The award has a value of 1000,00 Euro and is possible by generous sponsorship of the Malvern Panalytical. 

Recipients of the past EPDIC Awards for Young Scientists:

  • Maurizio Bellotto, EPDIC3 (1994)

  • Laszlo Petras, EPDIC4 (1995)

  • Malcom I. McMahon, EPDIC5 (1997)

  • Robert E. Dinnebier, EPDIC6 (1998)

  • David Rafaja, EPDIC7 (2000)

  • Matteo Leoni, EPDIC8 (2002)

  • Vincent Favre-Nicolin, EPDIC9 (2004)

  • Irene Margiolaki, EPDIC10 (2006)

  • Andrew L. Goodwin, EPDIC11 (2008)

  • Pavol Juhas, EPDIC12 (2010)

  • Kenneth R. Beyerlein, EPDIC13 (2012)

  • Jan M. Hinterstein EPDIC14 (2014)

  • K. M. Ø. Jensen EPDIC15 (2016)

  • Stef Smeets EPDIC16 (2018)

Distinguished Powder Diffractionists Award

The EPDIC Award for Distinguished Powder Diffractionists has been assigned for the first time during the EPDIC11 Conference for outstanding results and/or continued, important contributions  to the field of powder diffraction. The winner is elected by the EPDIC Committee. The award winner is invited to present a plenary lecture at the next European Powder Diffraction Conference. The award  is possible by generous sponsorship of the Bruker AXS.

Recipients of the past EPDIC awards for distinguished powder diffractionists:

  • Juan Rodriguez-Carvajal  EPDIC11 (2008)

  • Hugo Rietveld  EPDIC12 (2010)

  • Christian Baerlocher EPDIC13 (2012)

  • Daniel Louer EPDIC14 (2014)

  • C. Giacovazzo EPDIC15 (2016)

  • W.I.F. (Bill) David EPDIC16 (2018)

MP_Spectris_logo_RGB (002).jpg


MP_Spectris_logo_RGB (002).jpg
Rigaku_logo and slogan_Ver1CS4_2015.05.1
logo nur HUBER_300dpi.jpg
dectris_blau_ohne_R_detecting the future

IUCr Scientific Freedom Policy Statement

The Organizing Committee of the European Powder Diffraction Conference (EPDIC17) shall observe the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.

At this Conference, no barriers will exist which would prevent the participation of bona fide scientists.

Statement on Gender Balance at EPDIC17
The EPDIC17 Organizing Committee, (which itself is composed according to the gender balance policy) fully supports and promotes gender equality in accordance to the IUCr principle:

We will enforce and ensure the gender equality among our lecturers and participants, and we will pay a special attention to the gender balance in evaluating bursary applications.


© by Croatian Association of Crystallographers. Design by Buha & Žbago 2018.